Skip to main content

Faculty Resources and Services

The librarians are here to assist you with your instruction and research needs.

Embedding Content

The library offers millions of resources (print and online) that can be easily added to your course. Since the library pays for access to these resources, the links need to be tweaked a little so you and students can access the material off campus.  


Linking to articles in our databases or chapters in an ebook may seem complicated but it CAN be done and we can help you do it.  If you want to try on your own see the instructions below.  If you just want the correct link, contact a librarian and we can send it to you.

If you would like to scan a print resource and make it available to your students, you must place that copy in your Moodle course and follow copyright guidelines.  

Please contact a librarian if you need assistance locating or linking to any of our online resources or if you would like to add a scanned copy of print material.
Add the following URL to the permanent link for the article or ebook.  
http://ezproxy.stchas.edu:2048/login?url=
 
Below is an example of a link to an article in the Encyclopedia of American Social History on Transients, Migrants, and the Homeless.  It's long but it works, although it is better to embed the URL in the text. 
 
Link:
http://ezproxy.stchas.edu:2048/login?url=http://ic.galegroup.com/ic/uhic/ReferenceDetailsPage/
ReferenceDetailsWindow?failOverType=&query=&prodId=UHIC&windowstate=normal&contentModules=&mode
=view&displayGroupName=Reference&dviSelectedPage=&limiter=&currPage=
&disableHighlighting=true&displayGroups=&sortBy=&zid=&search_within_results=
&p=UHIC%3AWHIC&action=e&catId=&activityType=&scanId=&documentId=
GALE%7CBT2313027048&source=Bookmark&u=sain32367&jsid=
db9d8f722c4964a88f86c5eff47e98a2

Embedded Link:
Same link:  Please read this article on transients, migrants, and the homeless in American history.

Reserve Material

Purpose and Procedure

The library reserve collection contains course-related material available for a limited checkout period to give all students access to the material. Faculty members may place items on reserve from the library collection, or personal copies of books, audiovisual media, or periodical articles. Faculty members wishing to place items on reserve should make arrangements with library staff one week prior to the start of the semester. A Library Reserve Request Form  is available online and at the Circulation Desk. Faculty members will receive a letter at the end of each semester which offers the option to renew the reserve status of materials.

Reserve and Copyright Compliance

Faculty members may place original, library-owned materials, or personal copies of course-related material on reserve as long as necessary. Reproduced materials must, however, adhere to the SCC Library Copyright Policy available on the library website.

Reproduced materials may be placed on reserve for one semester only. All reproduced materials shall contain full bibliographic information and a notice of copyright; library staff will provide the appropriate stamp bearing this notice. At the end of the semester, the material will be removed from reserve unless copyright permission is received.

Copyright permission is required if a faculty member needs to extend the reserve status of reproduced material for more than one term, or place it on reserve again at a future date. A Copyright Permission Sample Letter  is available online and at the Circulation Desk. Reference librarians will gladly assist faculty members to request copyright permissions. The library reserves the right to refuse material that does not comply with U.S. Copyright Law.

If copyright permission is unobtainable or if the cost is prohibitive, faculty members may refer students to full-text articles in the library databases (e.g., Academic Search Elite, LexisNexis). Reference librarians will provide assistance to locate materials online. Faculty members may also place personally-owned materials on reserve or contact their library liaison to purchase items for the reserve collection.