LibGuides: Chemistry: Databases and Journals

Databases Overview

The following databases are available from the library web site and can be accessed off campus with your Canvas/Portal login information. Follow the links below, or select “Library Databases” link from the library’s homepage. To request Mobius books, you'll need to use your SCC student ID with the “sc” at the end, for example, 0654321sc.

Requesting Journal Articles
When there is no full-text available for an article in the database you are searching, you'll see a request link inside the article's citation record. Use the link to request it to be sent to your school email account. It takes 1-3 days.

Science and multidisciplinary databases

CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics This link opens in a new window
Primary resource for current and authoritative chemical data for the properties of organic and inorganic compounds along with basic constants, units, and conversion factors. Structure searching for over 10,000 compounds is also available.
USP Academic Connection This link opens in a new window
This complementary database offers select compendial publications, including the U.S. Pharmacopeia – National Formulary (USP-NF), Food Chemicals Codex (FCC), and Dietary Supplements Compendium (DSC). It provides standards for medicines, dosage forms, drug substances, excipients, medical devices, or dietary supplements. Click here to create your account.You must use your SCC email.
Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
This database provides scholarly/peer-reviewed articles from leading journals and reference sources including approximately 500 chemistry-related journals.
MEDLINE on EBSCOhost This link opens in a new window
This database can be used for searching for information relating to addiction, biomedical research, diseases, human physiology, health policies, health promotion, nutrition, occupational health, occupational therapy, public health and epidemiological studies.
Gale Science in Context This link opens in a new window
Information for those seeking contextual information on hundreds of today's most significant science topics. Contains updated reference content with full-text magazines, academic journals, news articles, experiments, images, videos, audio files and links to vetted websites organized into a user-friendly portal experience.
GreenFILE This link opens in a new window
Scholarly, government and general-interest titles on global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling and more.
Agricultural Collection This link opens in a new window
Contains more than 600 journal titles focused on agriculture-related fields with a strong emphasis on titles covered in the Agricola database. Also has more than 30 Delmar titles.
Environmental Studies in Context This link opens in a new window
Environmental Studies in Contest focuses on the physical, social, and economic aspects of environmental issues. Topic, organization, and country portals form research centers around issues covering energy systems,health care, agriculture, climate change, population, and economic development. Portals include authoritative analysis, academic journals, news, case studies, legislation, conference proceedings, primary source documents, statistics, and rich multimedia.
Science Reference Center This link opens in a new window
A research database that provides easy access to a multitude of full text science-oriented content.

Librarian

Ying Li

Email Me

Subjects: Health and Nursing