Skip to main content

ART2810: Digital Photography: Articles & Images

Journals & Magazines in Print

 


The SCC Library subscribes to several art and photography magazines and journals in print, including:

  • Aperture
  • Blind Spot
  • Communication Arts
  • Contact Sheet
  • Exposure
  • Artforum International
  • Art in America
  • ARTnews
  • Art Papers Magazine
  • American Craft

Articles from other publications are available online through the library databases (see Online Articles below).

Search the periodicals Publications List to fnd out if the library has access to a particular magazine or journal in print or online.

Oxford Art Online

Oxford Art Online provides access to articles and images from reference sources such as the Grove Dictionary of Art (Grove Art Online), The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms, The Encyclopedia of Aesthetics, and the Oxford Companion to Western Art.

oxford art online

ArtSTOR

Artstor is an online database of over 2 million digital images from international museums, photographers, libraries, scholars, photo archives, artists, and artists' estates.

You can search or browse for images, view them in detail, organize them into groups, and share them with your classmates and professors. 

Artstor offers an extensive library of online video tutorials to help you with all aspects of using the database.

The following video will give you a brief look at Artstor and some of its features:

 

Online Articles

Library databases contain articles from sources such as reference books, academic journals, magazines, and newspapers. The following library databases will provide excellent information on art and photography: