Skip to main content

MUS231: Music History I: Home

Welcome!

Welcome to the SCC Library Research Guide for MUS 231: Music History IIf you need help, don't hesitate to contact a librarian (look below for contact info)!

Books & eBooks

Go to the library home page (http://www.stchas.edu/library) to search for books and eBooks at the SCC Library.

library catalog

Google Books

google books

If you have trouble finding books on your topic using the library catalog, try Google Books to search the entire content of thousands of books. If you find a book that interests you, contact an SCC librarian who should be able to find it at a library for you!

The New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians


Example Chicago Manual of Style (16th Edition) citation of an article from The New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians:

First footnote at the bottom of a page in the research paper (for information appearing on p. 822 of the article on Vivaldi):

1. Michael Talbot, “Vivaldi, Antonio (Lucio),” in The New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians, ed. Stanley Sadie (London: Macmillan Publishers Limited, 2001), 822.

Corresponding entry on the Bibliography page at the end of the paper:

Talbot, Michael. “Vivaldi, Antonio (Lucio).” In The New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians, edited by Stanley Sadie, 817-843. London: Macmillan Publishers Unlimited, 2001.


You will only have to change the author's name (the author of the article), title of the article, and page numbers.

Oxford Music Online

In Oxford Music Online you will retrieve articles from different sources. To find an article that appears in the print edition of The Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians, look for the source Grove Music Online.

oxford music online

 

For the Chicago style citation, click "Cite" on the top right corner of the article.

oxford music online citation

 

chicago style citation

Requesting Books from Other Libraries

mobius logo

You can request books from dozens of other libraries--including the University of Missouri, Washington University, Webster University, and Lindenwood University--using the MOBIUS library catalog (http://www.searchmobius.org). 

When you request a book through MOBIUS, you will need information such as SCC's library cluster (ARCHWAY) and your student ID number (from your ID card).

Books are usually delivered to the SCC Library within a week. You will be notified by email when the book arrives so you can check it out.


INTERLIBRARY LOAN

If you find a book through Google Books (or anywhere else), the SCC Library can help!

A service called Interlibrary Loan allows us to borrow books from libraries all over the country. If we can't find it through MOBIUS (mostly Missouri libraries), we can look for it in another state.

Contact a reference librarian by email or chat for help finding any book, or fill out the online Interlibrary Loan Form

interlibrary loan form

Online Articles

Library databases contain articles from sources such as reference books, academic journals, magazines, and newspapers. The following library databases will provide excellent information on music history topics.

Most databases have a citation tool that will cite the articles for you. For Chicago style, choose the Chicago: Notes & Bibliography (NB) or Chicago: Humanities system of documentation, which uses a system of notes (e.g., footnotes) and a bibliography.
Note: This differs from the Author-Date References format.

Chicago Manual of Style

Use the Chicago: Notes & Bibliography (NB) or Chicago: Humanities system of documentation, which uses a system of notes (e.g., footnotes) and a bibliography.
Note: This differs from the Author-Date References format.

The following web sites are also excellent sources to help you understand Chicago style format:

Purdue Online Writing Lab (includes links to sample papers)
https://owl.english.purdue.edu/owl/resource/717/01/

Chicago-Style Citation Quick Guide
http://www.chicagomanualofstyle.org/tools_citationguide.html

Get Help

librarian photo

Kelly Mitchell
Reference Librarian

kmitchell@stchas.edu
636-922-8620

SCC Library Hours:

Monday-Thursday: 7:30 a.m.-10:00 p.m.
Friday: 7:30 a.m.-4:30 p.m.
Saturday: 9:00 a.m.-2:00 p.m.

closed Sunday
holiday hours vary