Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Library Resources: Research Help

24/7 Chat

SCC Reference Librarians are always available through the chat service during the library's regular operating hours. When the library is closed, the chat is handled by professional librarians that are ready to answer your questions.

Click here to access the chat.

Finding Articles

The SCC Library subscribes to many different databases providing you access to thousands of quality publications. Articles from academic journals, magazines, newspapers, and reference sources (e.g., encyclopedias) can be accessed through the databases. Over 60 databases cover a wide range of subjects, from nursing to literature. The total number of database titles is over 340,000.

If your instructor said to "use EBSCO" they probably meant to use Academic Search Premier which is the largest EBSCO database we have.

To access the databases, click Library Databases on the library home page. Only currently registered students, faculty and staff are allowed to use the databases off campus. Databases can be accessed off-campus using your SCC ID number with 'sc' at the end. For example, if your ID number were 0234567, you would enter 0234567sc.

Research Guides

There are over 40 guides and informative tutorials created by the SCC librarians to help you access help with citation, evaluating sources, subject guides and more.

This is the link to the Research Guides. Once you have clicked on the link you can see all of the guides, search by subject, type, or by owner (which librarian created the guide).

Your Friendly Reference Librarians

theresa ying julia kelly
Theresa Flett Ying Li Julia Wilbers Kelly Mitchell
636-922-8587 636-922-8438 636-922-8450 636-922-8798
tflett@stchas.edu yli@stchas.edu jwilbers@stchas.edu kmitchell@stchas.edu