LibGuides: Theater Research Guide: Search SCC Library Collections

SCC Library Collection (books, articles, e-books, textbooks, media, and more)

Search the SCC collection of 42,000+ print books, 170,000+ eBooks, textbooks, journal articles, and 18,000+ streaming films from the library homepage. Also search MOBIUS (27 million books) and request books from other Missouri colleges and universities. Alternatively, use the interlibrary loan (ILL) request form to request books from libraries all over U.S.

Not sure where and how to start? Watch a brief "Library Search Box" video and other instructional videos if you are new to SCC library resources.

Call Numbers for Theater Resources (print books):

The SCC Library Classic Catalog/Locate provides a call number and location for each item. Consult these call numbers and subject headings related to theatre resources organized according to the Library of Congress Classification System. View an example of how to read a call number.
Within subclass PN, PN2000-3307 is the primary range of classes for theater:

PN2061-2071: Art of acting
PN2085-2091: The stage and accessories
PN2131-2193: By period
- PN2131-2145: Ancient
- PN2152-2160: Medieval
- PN2171-2179: Renaissance
- PN2181-2193: Modern
PN2219.3-3030: Special regions or countries
PN3035: The Jewish theater
PN3151-3171: Amateur theater
PN3175-3191: College and school theatricals
PN3203-3299: Tableaux, pageants, "Happenings," etc.

In Focus: Digital Theatre Plus

Digital Theatre Plus
"Over 900 digital theatre resources including live performances across theatre, ballet, opera and classical music, interviews with actors, directors, and backstage crew, and study guides to help students with dramatic texts." Use the search box, or "Table of Contents", or Browse by: titles, genres, people, collections, and more.
How to Use DT+
Video Training for Higher Education -> Training for Faculty & Students - four short instructional videos (2-3 min), which explain how to navigate this complex database.
How do I find my way around DT+?
Need to learn your way around the different areas of Digital Theatre+ and find out how to surface the content most relevant to you? Have a watch of this whistle-stop guided tour of the platform and its functions! (3:37 min)
DT+: Glossary for Key Terms (Video resources)
These resources introduce a range of key terms, forms, and literary devices for English and Theatre students. They include written glossaries as well as short interactive videos, which feature demonstrations from productions on DT+.

Databases (streaming videos)

Academic Video Online
Academic Video Online contains almost 70,000 titles covering many subject areas including anthropology, business, counseling, film, health, history, music, and more. More than 14,000 titles are exclusive to Alexander Street Press.
Films on Demand
From Films for the Sciences and Humanities, this database offers thousands of full-length streaming videos and clips.
Kanopy
Access thousands of documentary and independent films which can be added to your course.
Swank Motion Pictures
A small collection of feature film titles available to stream. Titles correspond with class content.

Databases (journal articles)

Film and Television Literature
A comprehensive database covering the entire spectrum of television and film. Also includes Variety movie reviews from 1914 to present and over 36,300 images from the MPTV Image Archive.
Screen Studies
Screen Studies offers a broad range of content, including books, screenplays, and overview articles. It is a resource for students engaged in research and learning in film history, theory, and practice.
Humanities International Complete
This database includes all data from Humanities International Index (more than 2,300 journals and more than 2.9 million records) plus unique full text content, much of which is not found in other databases. Not all articles are full-text.
Academic Search Premier
Scholarly/peer-reviewed, full-text articles from leading journals and reference sources.
New York Times - Historical
Access full-text articles from the New York Times from 1851 to three years ago