LibGuides: Health Information Management: Databases and Journals

Databases Overview

The following databases are available from the library web site and can be accessed off campus with your Canvas/Portal login information.

Requesting Journal Articles
When there is no full-text available for an article in the database you are searching, you'll see a request link inside the article's citation record. Use the link to request it to be sent to your school email account. It takes 2-4 days.

Databases and Journals

CINAHL Complete This link opens in a new window
This database provides access to the literature in nursing and 17 allied health disciplines dating back to 1937. Over 5,000 journals are indexed including full text of 1,300 journals. It also offers access to evidence-based care sheets, quick lessons, and over 250 research instrument descriptions.
MEDLINE on EBSCOhost This link opens in a new window
MEDLINE is the premiere database for finding articles about biomedical research and clinical care in the English language. MEDLINE provides the strongest coverage of medicine, dentistry, and the health care system and the delivery of health care.
Consumer Health Complete This link opens in a new window
CHC is a comprehensive resource for consumer-oriented health content, including full text from many health reference books and encyclopedias and thousands of health reports as well as physician-generated videos and hundreds of medical images and diagrams.
Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
Scholarly/peer-reviewed, full-text articles from leading journals and reference sources.
USP Academic Connection This link opens in a new window
This complementary database offers select compendial publications, including the U.S. Pharmacopeia – National Formulary (USP-NF), Food Chemicals Codex (FCC), and Dietary Supplements Compendium (DSC). It provides standards for medicines, dosage forms, drug substances, excipients, medical devices, or dietary supplements. Click here to create your account.You must use your SCC email.
ERIC This link opens in a new window
Abstracts from education journals, dissertations, and government reports. Minimal full-text.
Academic OneFile This link opens in a new window
Large multidisciplinary database with an emphasis on academic journal articles but also contains popular interest magazine articles and some reference sources.

DOAJ: Open Access Journals
The Directory of Open Access Journals is a service that indexes high quality, peer reviewed Open Access research journals, periodicals and their articles' metadata. The Directory aims to be comprehensive and cover all open access academic journals that use an appropriate quality control system and is not limited to particular languages, geographical region, or subject areas.

Librarian

Theresa Flett

Email Me