Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Interested in eBooks? We have an impressive collection of them you can access from home!
Some of our eBook titles come from OverDrive.
To access them you will login with your college ID# followed by the letters SC
(this is the number on your ID card or in the corner of your course schedule, not the number in your email address - it will look like this example: 0123456sc)
For easier access, download the Libby app.
Here's just a taste of what we have on hand...
Art eBooks from Museums
These museums offer access to quite a collection of art eBooks
Head to the Databases!
The library offers you access to a number of databases, here are a few ideally suited to those interested in art.
ARTstor This link opens in a new window
Digital library of over 300,000 images and related data. View, zoom and compare images.
Oxford Art Online This link opens in a new window
Articles on all aspects of art and art history including artist biographies and links to art images. All full-text.
Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
Scholarly/peer-reviewed, full-text articles from leading journals and reference sources.
Art Magazine Collection Archives This link opens in a new window
Art Magazine Collection Archives contains indexing and full text (including covers and advertisements) for Magazine Antiques (1922-2016), ARTnews (1902-2006) and Art in America (1913-2015).
Art Journals @ the Library
Below is a sampling or magazines and journals the library provides access to, either in print or through one of our many databases.
Afterimage: The Journal of Media Arts and Cultural Criticism
"The journal seeks to serve as a diverse, inclusive, and interdisciplinary forum for visual culture and cultural criticism that extends across theory, research, and practice."
Available in PRINT in the library.
"Aperture, a not-for-profit foundation, connects the photo community and its audiences with the most inspiring work, the sharpest ideas, and with each other—in print, in person, and online."
The Art Bulletin
"The Art Bulletin publishes leading scholarship in the English language in all aspects of art history as practiced in the academy, museums, and other institutions."
"Special features on art, motion pictures and actors, motion picture reviews, book reviews and exhibition reviews with an international scope."
Art in America
"Since 1913, Art in America has published groundbreaking critical insights about contemporary art and culture. Each monthly issue features exhibition reviews, interviews with leading artists, and in-depth essays by critics, curators, and scholars at the forefront of their fields."
"a unique voice in the field as a peer-reviewed, professionally mediated forum for the arts" - published by College Art Association
"Articles, information and resources for and about ceramics and pottery."
Available in PRINT in the library.
"Communication Arts is the premier source of inspiration for graphic designers, art directors, design firms, corporate design departments, advertising agencies, interactive designers, illustrators and photographers—everyone involved in visual communication."
"The first American academic journal to examine design history, theory, and criticism, Design Issues provokes inquiry into the cultural and intellectual issues surrounding design."
"Concerned with the history of textiles in all their aspects: economic, social, and technological."
Ask for Help!
Need more in-depth help? You can make an appointment to meet with a Reference Librarian over Zoom or by phone. Use the form below to submit a request, and we will be in touch to schedule a time that works best for you!