Art Resources: Helpful Online Resources

"The Art Institute of Chicago in Chicago's Grant Park, founded in 1879, is one of the oldest and largest art museums in the United States."

"[P]airs essays and works of art with chronologies,
telling the story of art and global culture
through the Museum’s collection."

"Getty advances and shares the world’s visual art and cultural heritage for the benefit of all."

"[O]ne of the most comprehensive art museums in the world; the collection encompasses nearly 500,000 works of art."

"[F]ounded as a gift to the nation, serves as a center of visual art, education, and culture. Our collection of more than 150,000 paintings, sculpture, decorative arts, photographs, prints, and drawings spans the history of Western art and showcases some of the triumphs of human creativity."

"The Smithsonian American Art Museum, the nation’s first collection of American art, is an unparalleled record of the American experience. The collection captures the aspirations, character, and imagination of the American people throughout three centuries."

"The Saint Louis Art Museum’s collection includes more than 34,000 objects spanning 5,000 years of history and cultures. More than 5,000 objects are currently searchable online."

The Tate Museum has great resources about works of art and artists. Have fun exploring.
Be sure to check out their easy-to-understand "art terms" section: https://www.tate.org.uk/art/art-terms

"Art21 provides unparalleled access to the artist’s voice to diverse audiences around the world, using the power of digital media to introduce millions of people to contemporary art and artists."

"an open-access digital journal for the visual arts, which presents artists’ projects, conversations and interviews, scholarly essays, and other forms of content from across the cultural field"

"modern art history that is optimized for the web: we clearly and graphically overview and analyze modern artists, movements, and ideas."

"Whether you’re a student, teacher, art enthusiast, curator, or collector, Artsy offers a variety of additional ways to learn about art and design."

"... provides an independent forum for arts, culture, and politics throughout New York City and far beyond."

"Google Arts & Culture is a non-profit initiative. We work with cultural institutions and artists around the world. Together, our mission is to preserve and bring the world’s art and culture online so it’s accessible to anyone, anywhere."

"Our mission is to inspire people with the power of art and give them access to a broad range of expert speakers. We also work closely with a wide range of museums and galleries to film on location and bring out the stories in their collections."

"Hyperallergic is a leading voice in contemporary perspectives on art, culture, and more."

"I started the blog to document the work I loved, but more importantly, I wanted to find a way to flip the jealousy into something positive – admiration and inspiration to be specific."

"Smarthistory’s free, award-winning digital content unlocks the expertise of hundreds of leading scholars, making the history of art accessible and engaging to more people, in more places, than any other publisher."

"Colossal is an international platform for contemporary art and visual expression that explores a vast range of creative disciplines. With an archive of over 6,700 articles written by seven contributors, we pride ourselves in celebrating the work of both emerging and established artists through an ongoing commitment to make art accessible to everyone."