Now that we understand the PICO concept, it's time to put it into practice :-)
You are working with a stroke patient during her balance and gait recovery. The frequency and intensity of the conventional therapy proves to be insufficient to achieve maximum recovery. You are wondering whether balance or gait training using Virtual Reality (VR) is more effective than the conventional method.
Search terms to use in databases
| Key Concept | Search terms |
|---|---|
| Stroke | ischemic stroke, hemorrhagic stroke, cerebrovascular accident (CVA), cerebrovascular disease |
| Virtual Reality | virtual reality, VR, immersive VR, non-immersive VR, game, gaming |
| Balance or Gait | posture, postural control, mobility, ambulation, walking, lower extremity, endurance |
Recommended databases
The following databases are available from the library web site and can be accessed off campus with your Canvas/Portal login information.
Requesting Journal Articles
When there is no full-text available for an article in the database you are searching, you'll see a request link inside the article's citation record. Use the link to request it to be sent to your school email account. It takes 1-3 days.
Recommended EBP books from SCC Library and CHL Library
Find EBP books here from SCC library catalog. In addition to the SCC Library's collection of 70,000 print books, 180,000 eBooks and 18,000 streaming films, you may also search MOBIUS (29 million books) and request books from other Missouri colleges and universities.
Recommended EBP websites
EPC Evidence-Based Reports
Evidence-based Practice Centers (EPC) program is sponsored and developed by AHRQ (Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality) of the U.S. Department of Health & Human Services.
Evidence-Based Practices Resource Center
Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration (SAMHSA) provides communities, clinicians, policy-makers and others with the information and tools to incorporate evidence-based practices into their communities or clinical settings.
Health Evidence
Search healthevidence.org for access to 3,855 quality-rated systematic reviews evaluating the effectiveness of public health interventions from McMaster University's National Collaborating Centre for Methods and Tools.
Centre for Evidence-based Medicine (CEBM)
Located at the University of Oxford, CEBM develops, teaches, and promotes evidence-based health care.
National Institute for Health and Care Excellence (NICE)
UK-based institution that provides national guidance and advice to improve health and social care.
Professional Organizations such as the American Heart Association, the National Cancer Institute, the American Psychiatric Association or the American Academy of Pediatrics may post relevant evidence based medicine reviews or practice guidelines based on ebm reviews on their Web sites.
