Chemistry: Web Sites

General web sites

• American Chemical Society (ACs) 
  The American Chemical Society, a leading and authoritative source of scientific information, provides educational and career development programs, products, and services.
• Chemicals in Our Life
  By the European Chemical Agency. This is a good site to browse for research topics on chemicals in society.
• IUPAC 
  The International Union of Pure and Applied Chemistry (IUPAC) is the world authority on chemical nomenclature and terminology. This site offers databases that facilitate the search and retrieval of the output of its research activities.
• Royal Society of Chemistry
  News & information about The Royal Society of Chemistry (UK), links to its electronic journals, and resources for learning about chemistry at all levels (elementary through graduate).

Chemical & Physical Properties

• PubChem 
  PubChem is a database of chemical molecules and their activities against biological assays. It's maintained by the National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI).

• ChemIDplus 
  This National Library of Medicine's (NLM) database of over 400,000 chemicals can be searched by chemical name, CAS Registry Number, molecular formula, and structure or substructure.

• ChemSpider 
  ChemSpider is a free chemical structure database providing fast text and structure search access to over 58 million structures from hundreds of data sources. It's provided by Royal Society of Chemistry (UK).

• NIST Chemistry WebBook 
  It provides users with easy access to chemical and physical property data for chemical species. The data provided are from collections maintained by the NIST Standard Reference Data Program and outside contributors. Data in the WebBook system are organized by chemical species.

Chemical Safety

• MSDSonline
  Where to find Material Safety Data Sheets on the Internet. This site compiled many web sites that make their material safety data sheets freely available.
• Hazardous Substances Data Bank 
  HSDB focuses on the toxicology of potentially hazardous chemicals. It's peer-reviewed by the Scientific Review Panel (SRP). it's organized into individual chemical records, and contains over 5,800 such records.
• Chemical Safety Resources (CDC)
  ​​​​​​​Search these numerous sources of chemical hazard information provided by Centers for Disease Control & Prevention and the National Institute for Occupational Safety and Health (NIOSH), including information on acute and chronic health effects, chemical reactivity, explosiveness, flammability, and other relevant physical properties.
• Dietary Supplement Ingredient Database (DSID)
  Updated and maintained by National Library of Medicine, DSID provides estimated levels of ingredients in dietary supplement products sold in the United States.

Periodic Tables

• The Periodic Table of Videos 
  ​​​​​​​This periodic table has a short video about each one element. Scientists in the chemistry department from the University of Nottingham (UK) created these videos. They had a lot of fun doing it!
• Web Elements
  Up-to-date interactive table, providing lots of additional information, including background information, compounds, electronic properties, physical properties, crystallography (with visualization options), nuclear properties. Download printable versions.
• Visual Elements Periodic Table
  Sponsored by the Royal Society of Chemistry (RSC).
• Periodic Table of the Elements
  ​​​​​​​Created by the American Chemical Society (ACS).