Chemistry: Open Access: Videos, Images, Interactive Applications, Journals

Laboratory Experiments; Demonstrations & Techniques; Exemplars & Case Studies; Interactive Applications; Worksheets; Reference.

"These are interactive web-based tutorials and simulations that take advantage of computational resources of an online resource. This involve other active feedback simulations including virtual laboratories, tutorials, and real-time concept tests."

46 free educational videos (10-15 min long).

"Two sisters on a mission to demystify science with humor and relevance by creating videos, GIFs, comics, and resources." Most videos are "less than 10 minutes to provide a foundation and give more time for the important things: class discussion, exploration, hands-on labs, and student creation!"

Source: LibreTexts - Chemistry

"PubChem is the world's largest collection of freely accessible chemical information. Search chemicals by name, molecular formula, structure, and other identifiers. Find chemical and physical properties, biological activities, safety and toxicity information, patents, literature citations and more."

"CAS Common Chemistry is an open community resource for accessing chemical information. Nearly 500,000 chemical substances from CAS REGISTRY® cover areas of community interest, including common and frequently regulated chemicals, and those relevant to high school and undergraduate chemistry classes."

"SMPDB (The Small Molecule Pathway Database) is an interactive, visual database containing more than 30 000 small molecule pathways found in humans only. The majority of these pathways are not found in any other pathway database. SMPDB is designed specifically to support pathway elucidation and pathway discovery in metabolomics, transcriptomics, proteomics and systems biology."

"ChemSpider is a free chemical structure database providing fast text and structure search access to over 26 million structures from hundreds of data sources."

Search by Reaction name or Compound

"Open access is a broad international movement that seeks to grant free and open online access to academic information."

More information on the Open Access movement, Open Education, Open Data, and Impact Stories.

"A monthly journal dedicated to publishing high-quality papers that describe the most significant and cutting-edge research in all areas of chemistry."

"PubMed Central® (PMC) is a free full-text archive of biomedical and life sciences journal literature at the U.S. National Institutes of Health's National Library of Medicine (NIH/NLM)."

Search for peer-reviewed journal articles and/or book chapters in the advanced search.

30 open access journals in chemistry.

"The journal will broadly cover all areas of chemistry where artificial intelligence (AI) and machine learning approaches are used."

From 1948 to present.

From 2012 to present.

From 2009 to present. Search by keyword or by citation.

Open access science database. Publishes 14 journals in three disciplines: life science, health science, sustainability science.

Search by Articles or Journals. There are 652 indexed chemistry journals.

INTERVIEWS with accomplished scientists in chemistry.

"The open Web offers a rich collection of diverse chemical data sources - if you know where to look." Compiled by Richard Apodaca; last updated in 2024.