Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
The following databases are available from the library web site and can be accessed off campus with a valid SCC ID number. Select “Search for articles” link from the library’s homepage, click on a database and enter your last name and your student ID number followed by “sc,” for example, 0654321sc.
Looking for specific biology journals? Follow this link to search by the titles or browse by discipline.
Databases and Journals
Academic Search Premier
This database provides scholarly/peer-reviewed articles from leading journals and reference sources including approximately 700 biology-related journals.
CINAHL provides citations to Nursing and Allied Health articles. Full text is available for over 1,300 journals and over 240 books and monographs. Can also be a good source of medical and public health information.
MEDLINE on EBSCOhost
This database can be used for searching for information relating to addiction, biomedical research, diseases, human physiology, health policies, health promotion, nutrition, occupational health, occupational therapy, public health and epidemiological studies.
Gale Science in Context
Information for those seeking contextual information on hundreds of today's most significant science topics. Contains updated reference content with full-text magazines, academic journals, news articles, experiments, images, videos, audio files and links to vetted websites organized into a user-friendly portal experience.
Scholarly, government and general-interest titles on global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling and more.
Large multidisciplinary database with an emphasis on academic journal articles but also contains popular interest magazine articles and some reference sources.
CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics
Primary resource for current and authoritative chemical data for the properties of organic and inorganic compounds along with basic constants, units, and conversion factors. Structure searching for over 10,000 compounds is also available.
USP Academic Connection
This complementary database offers select compendial publications, including the U.S. Pharmacopeia – National Formulary (USP-NF), Food Chemicals Codex (FCC), and Dietary Supplements Compendium (DSC). It provides standards for medicines, dosage forms, drug substances, excipients, medical devices, or dietary supplements. Click here to create your account.You must use your SCC email.
Films on Demand
From Films for the Humanities and Sciences, this database offers thousands of full-length streaming videos and clipsmany exclusive.
DOAJ: Open Access Journals
The Directory of Open Access Journals is a service that indexes high quality, peer reviewed Open Access research journals, periodicals and their articles' metadata. The Directory aims to be comprehensive and cover all open access academic journals that use an appropriate quality control system and is not limited to particular languages, geographical region, or subject areas.
Ask for Help!
Need more in-depth help? You can make an appointment to meet with a Reference Librarian over Zoom or by phone. Use the form below to submit a request, and we will be in touch to schedule a time that works best for you!