Art Resources: Photography / Images

Modern and Contemporary Artist Names: Pronunciation Guide

"With collection of print viewings, exhibitions tours, special programs for area high schools, and downloadable curricular resources, we have many options for people who are eager to learn more about the role of the image in our world today."

"This is the world’s oldest photography museum and one of the oldest film archives. The museum holds unparalleled collections—encompassing several million objects—in the fields of photography, cinema, and photographic and cinematographic technology, and photographically illustrated books. "

Pixabay hosts over 5 million high quality images and videos with public domain licenses. No creators' attributions are required for images taken from this site.

Browse by category: street photography, people, architecture & interiors, nature, travel, and more.

2.8 million images "from all 19 Smithsonian museums, 9 research centers, libraries, archives and the National Zoo," all released into the public domain.

The best free stock photos, royalty free images & video clips shared by creators.

Browse through over 600 million items (images and audio) to reuse.

"A web-based photo and graphics editor. It is used for image editing, making illustrations, web design or converting between different image formats."

The Getty Museum has assembled the finest and most comprehensive corpus of photographs on the West Coast. The collection is particularly rich in works dating from the time of photography’s invention in England and France in the late 1830s and early 1840s. International in scope, it encompasses substantial holdings by some of the most significant makers of the 19th through the 21st centuries.

For this exhibition the curatorial team has unearthed an array of treasures that have never been shown here before. The exhibition object checklist is downloadable.

"A photograph is an image created by light falling on a photosensitive surface... The process and practice of creating such images is called photography."

Browse the online collection by artists - from 19th century to present.

Browse the A-Z list of Art Movements from the Impessionism to present. Learn about the genesis, characteristics, and most distinguished representatives of each movement, coupled with image samples.

"The collections of the Prints & Photographs Division include photographs, fine and popular prints and drawings, posters, and architectural and engineering drawings. While international in scope, the collections are particularly rich in materials produced in, or documenting the history of, the United States and the lives, interests and achievements of the American people."

The Smithsonian provides open access to nearly 3 million 2D and 3D digital items, allowing users to download, share, and reuse images from its 19 museums, including its many photography archives.

Podcasts, class lectures, and resources from Jeff Curto.

"Since its invention, photographs have been used as proof and manipulated to tell lies. In this video, we learn about different ways the meaning of photographs can be altered, and resources to combat disinformation."

"This glossary is designed to guide the reader through the materials and techniques used in the creation of the prints in the Thomas Walther Collection. In the period between the two world wars, photography was characterized by boundless creative expression. Stimulated by revolutions in technology—the development of new smaller and more portable cameras, motion-picture and low-light cameras, enlargers for making positive prints from negatives, and easy-to-use photographic papers."

All you need to know about Primary Sources - "raw materials of history - original documents and objects that were created at the time under study" - a comprehensive guide from the Library of Congress (LC).

"SPE is the leading forum for fostering understanding of photography in all its forms and related media."

Magnum Photos is a co-operative owned and run by its member photographers.
Learn with MAGNUM: workshops, mentorships, online courses; free programs, and more.