Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Searching in Databases
The library databases offer a great place for you to go and find criticism about a short story you've read. You have the option of searching by the name of the story and/or the author and/or the title of the collection of stories.
A friendly tip: not all short stories have criticism written specifically about them. BUT you can search for criticism about a collection of short stories (as referenced above). That will often offer up information about recurrent themes in the collection that you can then use to gain clarity on a story you've read.
To find the name of a short story collection it can be as simple as going to Google and typing in the name of the short story with the name of the author. The results that show up will likely reference the title of the collection and/or will offer up a link to the collection in places like Amazon.
-- but you can also always ask a Reference Librarian for assistance :)
Databases to use
Gale Literary Sources This link opens in a new window
You can easily search by short story title, author, or collection in this database.
Short Stories for Students This link opens in a new window
This focuses on short stories college students are frequently assigned, so it's not an exhaustive resource, BUT it's still helpful. If a short story you're interested in IS included you'll find author information, plot summaries, character breakdowns, criticism, and more...
Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
This well-rounded database isn't subject-specific so you might find information about a short story of interest coming from a discipline that might surprise you (for example: Education, History, Religious Studies...)
You might have the best luck searching by story collection and author in this resource.
It can also be really helpful if you're looking for information about the author and their work more broadly.