LibGuides: Nursing: Databases and Journals

Databases Overview

The following databases are available from the library web site and can be accessed off campus with your Canvas/Portal login information. Follow the links below, or select “Library Databases” link from the library’s homepage.

Requesting Journal Articles
When a full-text article is not available in the database you are searching, you'll see a request link inside the article's citation record. Or use the Interlibrary Loan (ILL) form to request it to be sent to your school email account. It takes 2-3 days.

Recommended Databases

NEW: PubMed Central (open access)
PubMed Central® (PMC) is a FREE full-text archive of biomedical and life sciences journal literature at the U.S. National Institutes of Health's National Library of Medicine (NIH/NLM). It contains over 10 million full-text articles.

CINAHL Complete
This database provides access to the literature in nursing and 17 allied health disciplines dating back to 1937. Over 5,000 journals are indexed including full text of 1,300 journals. It also offers access to evidence-based care sheets, quick lessons, and over 250 research instrument descriptions.
MEDLINE on EBSCOhost
MEDLINE is the premiere database for finding articles about biomedical research and clinical care in the English language. MEDLINE provides the strongest coverage of medicine, dentistry, and the health care system and the delivery of health care.
Health & Wellness Resource Center
Good for researchers at all levels, this consumer health resource provides authoritative information on the full range of health-related issues, from current disease and disorder information to in-depth coverage of alternative medical practices, and more.
USP Academic Connection
This complementary database offers select compendial publications, including the U.S. Pharmacopeia – National Formulary (USP-NF), Food Chemicals Codex (FCC), and Dietary Supplements Compendium (DSC). It provides standards for medicines, dosage forms, drug substances, excipients, medical devices, or dietary supplements. Click here to create your account.You must use your SCC email.
Consumer Health Complete
CHC is a comprehensive resource for consumer-oriented health content, including full text from many health reference books and encyclopedias and thousands of health reports as well as physician-generated videos and hundreds of medical images and diagrams.
Academic Search Premier
Scholarly/peer-reviewed, full-text articles from leading journals and reference sources.
ERIC
Abstracts from education journals, dissertations, and government reports. Minimal full-text.
CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics
Primary resource for current and authoritative chemical data for the properties of organic and inorganic compounds along with basic constants, units, and conversion factors. Structure searching for over 10,000 compounds is also available.